Helsinki Photography Biennial 2014 Ecological Fallacy + Objects on Oil 27 March–14 May 2014 Helsinki, Finland Helsinki Photography Biennial is a series of events on photo/lens-based contemporary art that opens March 27 in Helsinki. The biennial features contemporary art from Finland and beyond, and is organized every two years in the spring. HPB14 is produced by Union of Artist Photographers / Photographic Gallery Hippolyte in collaboration with The Finnish Museum of Photography. In 2014, the biennial aims to examine causal relations regarding ecological issues. The curatorial framework of HPB14 has been developed by Istanbul-based curator and designer Basak Senova, Finnish Mustarinda Association, and Branko Franceschi (Zagreb). The publication for HPB14 doubles as a special issue of Mustarinda magazine and develops the theme of the biennial. These topics are also discussed in the HPB14 Seminar organized on 29 March. Ecological Fallacy The title of the biennial, Ecological Fallacy, refers to the term ecological fallacy in statistics. It is a logical error or a mistaken assumption in the interpretation of statistical data. Derived from this analogy, the biennial questions analogous errors and assumptions, which are deliberately and systematically made by the ruling powers that violate the ecological balance of the world. In this context, Basak Senova's curatorial framework addresses fallacies of ecological knowledge and fosters collaborative connections between ecological data and photography-based archives. The biennial seeks correlated artistic approaches and perspectives as a way of producing and processing evident critical, social and cultural discourses on these fallacies. It serves as the suture that draws the accumulated data about fallacies on ecology into visual evidences and lens-based realities. The Ecological Fallacy exhibition features 19 projects from artists around the globe. The Ecological Fallacy exhibition at the Finnish Museum of Photography includes works from the following artists: Ali Cherri (Beirut/Paris), Daniel García Andújar (Barcelona), Hana Miletic (Zagreb/Brussels), Jawad Al Malhi (East Jerusalem), Jesper Just (New York), Mary McIntyre (Belfast), Olof Jarlbro (Helsingborg/Sofia), Raqs Media Collective (New Delhi), Serkan Taycan (Istanbul/Helsinki), Société Réaliste (Paris), and Willie Doherty (Donegal/Derry).